Broken? Don’t repair it, buy a new one!


Or that was the message that Apple gave to me.
Over the weekend, my iPod was having minor problems with the menu screen. So I decided that it might to smart to see how much it would cost to repair it. So I went onto the Apple.com website and went through the whole process to get a repair, sadly my limited warranty expired. It turns out that my 1 year old 120gb iPod Classic would cost over $300 to repair! That’s absurd! I could just go out and buy a brand new 160gb iPod for $250.
It’s sad how it is cheaper to buy a new one and throw a broken item away. Having things repaired would help keep broken iPods out of landfills, but with the price to repair is more than a new one. So most people see that price and just throw the old one away.

David D

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gullett23 said,

    I’ve had six or seven new cell-phones over the last couple years, finally I found one that might be durable. My I pod also didnt last me very long, they are made to break and are expensive to replace. I kept all the boxes, booklets and accessories that came with them up until I moved last. When I threw out all that stuff it practicle filled up my recycling bin for the week. It’s pathetic that these expensive devices are made to be so weak.
    R. Gullett

  2. 2

    Adam McCoy said,

    What you’re mentioning is a practice called “planned obsolescence” You can have a toaster from the 50’s that is still making your toast perfectly today, but if you bought one a year ago, it could have burnt out already. On the other hand, technology is advancing so quickly now and days that your product is often obsolete in a year anyway. Yes, for most things, planned obsolescence is a blight on society, but in the matter of computers or iPods or televisions, it’s the company’s way of ensuring that the consumer has the latest technology available to them. I do think that everyone needs to take a hint from Apple and make their products mostly recyclable. So at least when you need to buy the latest update on the iPod, you know that your old one isn’t filling a landfill.

  3. 3

    shotahioki said,

    That is absurd how repairing costs more! But I must say, the “planned obsolescence” is a smart way to keep your customers. This is the same with light bulbs as we purchase new ones after they die. From the advancing technology, it is possible to produce a light bulb that would last for decades or even a century! (There was a light bulb that lasted 107 years! Check out this site: http://members.misty.com/don/longlife.html) However by purposely limiting its life span, the companies can mass produce these less-efficient light bulbs cheaper and provide them at a lower cost to consumers. This trap ensures future profit for the companies in this capitalistic world.

    – Shota


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

