5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    shermanj said,

    Shota,

    I must say that between the YouTube Video, the Household Water Audit website and your tip about how to so very easily reduce your toilet water use, this is an amazing blog entry and simply really excited me. Good job! I am going to try the toilet water technique later.

    – Jacob

  2. 2

    konaka237 said,

    Brilliant! Add more volume so that the water level can’t fill up the whole tank! I was on this disgusting kick a few years back in trying the “grey-water” method. it’s when you collect water that you are using by showering, or washing dishes or hands, or brushing your teeth. I was collecting them in plastic tubs and funneling them in gallon milk jugs. I then kept them next to my toilet and flushed with the force of the water from these jugs after going. The whole thing was a disaster and just plain gross! Most of the time I would be too lazy to funnel the water into gallons from the tubs, and they would sit around my apartment developing mold until I just dumped them anyway. The water in the milk jugs developed slimy mold too, and the force from these jugs were not enough to flush things down properly. My roommate implored me to give it up so I did in disgust, and never looked back on that experience until now. I like your idea much better!
    -Anne-Marie

  3. 3

    shotahioki said,

    I have been concerned about the water used in everyday life such as washing dishes too, and have wondered if there was a way to make use of it rather than just letting it go down the sink. I have never heard about your “grey-water” method and think it is a smart idea, but I guess from your experience it doesn’t work too well. The most I have done to reuse used water is probably to give the water used to wash rice with to plants, which is rich in nutrients washed off from the rice. I wonder if there are better methods in reusing water in larger scales.

    – Shota

  4. 4

    dangkid said,

    One of the ways that my family does to save water is by saving the water from showers in big tubs to water the plants out in the garden. It’s extremely useful during the summer because it makes the flowers bloom and it looks really nice. And plus it saves having to use water from the hose.

    David D

  5. 5

    pottygirl said,

    A regular toilet is not designed to flush paper and solid waste with reduced amounts of water, so the likelihood of clogging or having to flush twice after installing a water displacement device increases. Standard US toilets clear the bowl with siphon technology, so the diameter of the trap way has to be a small as possible http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_z6pymOet7g&feature=channel_page.) If you are serious about saving water, want a toilet that really works and is affordable, I highly recommend a Caroma Dual Flush toilet. Caroma toilets offer a patented dual flush technology consisting of a 0.8 Gal flush for liquid waste and a 1.6 Gal flush for solids. Caroma, an Australian company set the standard by giving the world its first successful two button dual flush system in the nineteen eighties and has since perfected the technology. Also, with a full 3.5” trap way, these toilets virtually never clog. All of Caroma’s toilets are on the list of WaterSense labeled High Efficiency Toilets (HET’s) http://www.epa.gov/watersense/pp/find_het.htm that qualify for several rebate programs currently available throughout the US as well as LEED points. Please go to http://www.caromausa.com for more detailed information or visit
    http://www.ecotransitions.com/howto.asp to see how we flush a potato with the half flush (0.8 gallons), meant for liquid waste. To learn more about toilets you can also visit my blog
    http://pottygirl.wordpress.com/. Best regards, Andrea Paulinelli


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

