A tree still grows


In the sustainability section of The Oregonian I read a story about how 20 years ago a group of children planted a tree behind their school that is still standing today.  Today the tree is said to be “straight, limbless, with a cluster of branches at the top.”  However that very tree, no matter how limbless it may be, is still cleaning the air and filtering the rainwater.  I do not remember a single time throughout my school experience that I was given the opportunity to plant anything into the earth.  I think more schools should create some type of yearly planting, where all of the children can participate in planting a few trees or even some simple flowers.  It is good for the environment and it teaches children how to create a more sustainable atmosphere for the future.

-Erica Nickerson

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    logantaylor said,

    When I was in elementary school, I was my schools treasurer. I had the opportunity to raise money for and arbor day tree celebration. In the end I got enough money and broke a deal with a local nursery and I, on arbor day, got to break ground as we planted four new trees in the front of my elementary school. It truly was an amazing experience.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

