The U.S’s Northwest Cities are the ‘most sustainable’!!


Japanese Garden - Portland OregonWhile I was reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals on the max, a woman got attracted by the book and she asked me about it. So I told her that it is a text book that is related to a class for sustainability. It turned out that she was really interested in the idea of “go green” and “sustainable life”. And while were chatting about it, she told me “did you know that Portland is the top sustainable city in the US?”. Even though I felt a shame for not knowing that, but it motivates me to go online and read about it. And then I found in a website that there are other “green” cities in the US, so I wanted to share the website with you.

But my question is, why they care about being sustainable cities? Is it because they really care about cleaning the environment for the future generation? Or because they just want to be recognized and known by being sustainable?

The cities were judged based on their ability to keep the air quality and healthy drinking water, their use of renewable energy and alterative fuel, and access to public transit, number of parks, green building and local food production.

Needa L

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    shermanj said,

    Needa, thanks for sharing that article. I always knew that Portland was cutting edge, but I never knew we were officially number one. Thanks for asking us questions and trying to spur discussion, but I am going to skirt them and ask my own, “Even though we excel in all the categories we were judged on, what does it mean when we are the most sustainable and also have some of the highest unemployment in the nation?”

  2. 2

    jhswain said,

    Correlation does not imply causation, Prof.

  3. 3

    jhswain said,

    “But my question is, why they care about being sustainable cities? Is it because they really care about cleaning the environment for the future generation? Or because they just want to be recognized and known by being sustainable?”

    And I thought I was cynical! Haha.

    In all seriousness, I don’t think it’s an ego thing. I think the people making the decisions really do care, otherwise they wouldn’t bother. That’s a lot of effort to put into something (being sustainable) for nothing more than societal recognition.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

