The progression of the “Going Green” campaign


Only a few years ago I felt like I was one of the few people who cared about recycling, and buying green products, and trying to convince the world around me to do the same.  Especially in the food service industry, I found myself staying a little longer at the end of my shift to pick through the trash, if it didn’t look too gross, for all the glass, and cans, and paper that were remarkably and carelessly thrown away.  I was brought up to think twice about the things we waste and though it was for a different reason, I took those ideas and formed my own of what all that waste meant.  I do find a lot of ideas difficult to execute such as trying to grow a garden and keeping it up when I just end up killing it.  If there was a tutor for that kind of thing I need one desperately.  But I guess in most ways it’s second nature to me to not get a bag at the grocery, (even if I have to hold things in my hands because I forget to bring one), or to try to separate all my waste components into different bins unless they aren’t available, in which case I just bring home with me, or if there’s a deposit then I leave it in a conspicuous place for someone else to redeem, and to spend more money on natural products.  But there has been a strong green campaign recently popping up in ads everywhere and I have found the rest of the world slowly but surely picking up on the slogan “GO GREEN” and the world finally catching up to how we should have been living all this time.  Now I find myself surrounded by people easily making it their lifestyle and surpassing me in their ideas of being green.  So now I feel a little behind on trying to be green but I have a lot of things to learn from the younger generations of people who are coming up with new technologies to be green easier than it was only ten years ago.  There was a study done with observing monkeys which I won’t get into right now but it inspired the theory of “The Hundredth Monkey”, a book by Ken Keyes Jr., which I really believe in and now I think I’m seeing it proven right in front of my eyes for the first time in my life.  I have incredible hope for the future!

-Anne-Marie Aguilar

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    shermanj said,

    Anne Marie, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I have a lot to say, but for now, can you edit your post to include the links to the USA Today article and The Hundredth Monkey? Could you also give it a category? Thanks!

    • 2

      konaka237 said,

      I would love to…I’m trying to learn this new mac I got. First time mac user and I’m not used to not having the right click. I’ll figure it out tomorrow.

      • 3

        Eric Gietzen said,

        Are you using a mac book? Because on the scroll pad, if you click with both fingers on the bottom, it right clicks.

  2. 4

    matt z said,

    The rise of the “going green” campaign is definitely a good thing, and I’m glad awareness is being spread. But I find it kind of annoying when companies take advantage of this growing desire for consumers to be more eco-minded by advertising their product as “green” because it contains a minuscule percentage of recycled materials, or contains fewer deadly chemicals, etc. Being environmentally conscious has become almost the fashionable thing to do, and I wish more companies would take legitimate action in reducing their environmental impact instead of falsely representing themselves and allowing consumers to believe that they are making a difference, when really the difference is often superficial

    • 5

      konaka237 said,

      I wholly agree with you. I also realize that a lot of times fads need to be instituted to persuade people to do the right thing. I’m hoping that this first step of awareness, though superficial as you say, will get people to think on a deeper level once the fad disappears, and that more will be questioning the exploitations of advertisements once they do care on that deeper level. It’s a more viable option right now then nothing at all. Companies know that people are smart and that they will be constantly challenged to adapt their methods. They can only take advantage of what’s allowed. The difference may be superficial right now, but huge in some years from now if these little increments continue.

  3. 6

    matt z said,

    I agree that these little increments would make a significant difference in years to come– given that we had the time and the resources to sustain our population until these problems eventually leveled out. But do we really have the time? Can we afford to rely on baby steps to bring us to a sustainable balance before it is too late? These ads that exaggerate the difference they are making make people think that they are doing all that is necessary, when really more dramatic changes need to be made. For example, a few days ago I saw an ad for Ford’s new “EcoBoost” engine. Curious as to what this actually meant I looked it up online. Turns out this “innovative” new engine is estimated to produce 15% less greenhouse emissions than other ford engines. I agree with you in that steps like these are better than nothing at all, but does this really come close to justifying the tremendous impact cars have on the environment? Or does it just make drivers think they are doing something to help the environment when actually they are still hurting it?

    • 7

      shermanj said,

      Matt,

      I am interested about this “EcoBoost” engine. In terms of emissions, I wonder if a 15% reduction is actually enough to reduce green house gas emissions to the types of levels that scientists think we need to be at in order to prevent the downsides of global warming.

      Like you, I agree that it is better than nothing, but is it a real solution or simply a band-aide, a sort of self-congratulatory gesture that makes the consumer feel a little better, like they are doing something important — when perhaps that 15% reduction is simply nothing at all?

      But hey, now I am focusing on the problem… what would be a viable solution?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

